Select Page

Exempt Appliances

Appliances are exempted separately in the different countries of the UK as follows:

  • England
  • Wales
  • Scotland
  • Northern Ireland
  • All four countries

In England these are exempted by publication of this list by the Secretary of State in accordance with changes made to sections 20 and 21 of the Clean Air Act 1993 by section 15 of the Deregulation Act 2015.

In Scotland these are exempted by publication of this list by Scottish Ministers under section 50 of the Regulatory Reform (Scotland) Act 2014.

In Wales and Northern Ireland these are exempted by regulations made by Welsh Ministers and by the Department of the Environment respectively.

Advice: for safety reasons, care should be taken to ensure that all exempt appliances are correctly installed and properly maintained (including flues and chimneys). Only fuel for which the appliance is designed should be used.

If you are an appliance manufacturer, importer or distributor, find out how to apply for exemption.

Some of the information provided here has been prepared by Ricardo-AEA Ltd on behalf of the Department for Environment, Food & Rural Affairs (Defra) and for convenience as part of the services Defra offer. No representation, warranty or undertaking (expressed or implied) is made in relation to it. Defra, the Devolved Administrations, Ricardo-AEA Ltd and its contractors cannot accept any liability for the adequacy, reliability, completeness or accuracy of the information or the assumptions on which it is based and accepts no liability to any third party for any loss or damage arising from any interpretation or use of the information or reliance on anything expressed therein.

The information provided here in respect of England and Scotland only, however, constitutes the publication of lists of exemptions and approvals required by statute. Nothing in this disclaimer shall operate to exclude or restrict our liability where such exclusion or restriction would not be permitted by law.